Listen to songs from Bruce Sprinsteen’s new album, Western Stars

Take a moment to reflect upon and truly appreciate that we’re alive at the same time as Bruce Springsteen, one of the greats of popular music. After all, after 40 years as a performer, the Grammy, Oscar, Tony and Presidential Medal of Honor winning artist is still actively creative rather than replying on the nostalgia market.

That’s why we’re on the verge of welcoming his nineteenth studio album on June 14. Most of it was recorded at his home studio in New Jersey, with additional recording in New York and California. This roaming, national perspective is reflected in the song titles:
  1. Hitch Hikin’
  2. The Wayfarer
  3. Tucson Train
  4. Western Stars
  5. Sleepy Joe’s Café
  6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
  7. Chasin’ Wild Horses
  8. Sundown
  9. Somewhere North of Nashville
  10. Stones
  11. There Goes My Miracle
  12. Hello Sunshine
  13. Moonlight Motel

Springsteen explained “this record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements.” To that end, it includes horns, strings, pedal steel and contributions from over 20 musicians.

We’ve being treated to a handful of singles before the album appears in June. Hello, Sunshine is a pedal steel infused shuffle about avoiding the dubious charms of blues and solitude: “You know I always liked that empty road/No place to be and miles to go/But miles to go is miles away/Hello sunshine, won’t you stay?”


There Goes My Miracle is quite a musical departure, with Springsteen crooning a plaintive songs of heartbreak over strings:

Tucson Train is a compelling black and white video giving us a sneak peek to many of the musicians that will feature on the album.
Western Stars is out on Columbia Records on June 14, 2019, and is available for pre-order now. We’ll share our track-by-track review as soon as possible!
If you’re after a tshirt + record bundle or the web-exclusive blue vinyl, head to Springsteen’s webstore. Alternatively, you can get the CD or regular vinyl a touch cheaper at Amazon. At no additional cost to you, I will earn a small commission if you click the image below to buy it.

Follow me for more reviews, news and photos!

Twitter: @musiccloseup
Instagram: musiccloseup
Facebook: musiccloseup

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.