Tour news: Granfalloon are taking their innovative folktronica music on the road

We’ve covered various Manchester-based rock and indie bands recently, including Twisted Wheel and Dantevilles. Granfalloon are something different. Folktronica is the perfect way to describe their simultaneously gentle and unsettling new single, The Elephant. Sung in English and German, it celebrates frontman and producer Richard Lomax’s pan-European heritage. Having previously released an ambitious 52 track solo album resulting from a song-a-week writing challenge, and played alongside We Are Scientists and Frightened Rabbit, Lomax then embraced the Granfalloon concept for a more collaborative music making experience with a collective of other musicians and producers.

The lyric video for The Elephant celebrates early RGB graphics, a nod to the upcoming album, RGB.

Granfalloon are about to set out on an extensive tour in support of the new music.
Sunday, August 25 – Solfest, Cumbria
Saturday, August 31 – Abbey Tap House, Manchester
Thursday, September 12 – The Old Hairdressers, Glasgow
Saturday, September 14 – Vinyl Fiction in-store show 2pm, Chorlton
Sunday, September 15 – Secret house show, Manchester
Wednesday, September 18 – Leaf On Bold St., Liverpool
Saturday, September 21 – Venue TBC, Bolton
Friday, September 27 – Eagle Inn, Salford**Album launch show**
Saturday, September 28 – The Ferret, Preston
Friday, October 4 – Peddlar, Sheffield
Saturday, October 5 – Golden Lion, Todmorden
Thursday, October 17 – Golden Lion, Lancaster
Sunday, October 20 – Tower Of Song, Birmingham
Tuesday, October 22 – Old England, Bristol
Thursday, October 24 – The Harrison, London
RGB is due out on October 12 on digital and on vinyl. Head to Granfalloon’s website for tour and album information. 

Follow me for more reviews, news and photos!

WordPress: musiccloseup.com
Twitter: @musiccloseup
Instagram: musiccloseup
Facebook: musiccloseup

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.