Simple Plan’s new album is Harder Than It Looks

Here at Music Closeup HQ, we vividly remember when I’m Just A Kid by Simple Plan was released, so we’re disconcerted to find out that was 20 years ago. Simple Plan’s new album, Harder Than It Looks, is a reward for patient pop-punk fans who have waited six years since the band’s last record

Simple Plan's new album Harder Than It Looks cover

We made a classic, quintessential Simple Plan record that our fans will absolutely love and it was amazing to go back to our roots and unapologetically embrace what has made this band special to so many people: fun, catchy, honest and emotional songs that will make you feel less alone, put a smile on your face and give you hope.

The band has learned to not be concerned that it’s no longer the early 2000s. Singer Pierre Bouvier explains “it’s taken a while to be mature enough to understand that our sound is an asset, not a liability.” Drummer Chuck Comeau chimes in “We truly always feel we’re 3 minutes away from the best or biggest song of our career.”

In embracing their heritage they’ve also welcomed old friends. They collaborated with Sum 41‘s Deryck Whibley on the single Ruin My Life.

Of course, the band members have grown up and they realise that not everything is fun and light-hearted. They were particularly affected by the crisis in Ukraine.

We felt so heartbroken and powerless. The impact on young children and families felt especially devastating and made us want to do something to help.” 

That’s why they hired a Ukrainian director, Jensen Noen, and a Ukrainian cast and crew to make the music video for Wake Me Up (When This Nightmare’s Over). They also hope to raise awareness and money to help the people of Ukraine. All of the money generated from YouTube views will be donated to relief efforts via UNICEF’s Ukraine Emergency Appeal. Simple Plan will also donate a portion of the proceeds of ticket sales for their current U.S. tour.

Simple Plan – Harder Than It Looks tracklisting

  1. Wake Me Up (When This Nightmare’s Over)
  2. Ruin My Life (feat. Deryck Whibley)
  3. The Antidote
  4. A Million Pictures Of You
  5. Anxiety
  6. Congratulations
  7. Iconic
  8. Best Day Of My Life
  9. Slow Motion
  10. Two

Simple Plan’s new album, Harder Than It Looks, is out on May 6, 2022.

Bonus content for anyone else who still can’t believe that 2002 was 20 years ago! Here’s the I’m Just A Kid video featuring Buffy, The Vampire Slayer and Bring It On legend Eliza Dushku.

Check out for more music news and reviews!