Puppy: recording insights + tour dates

Puppy produced their new album in the wake of disappointment and adversity. Here, we explore their recording experience and announce their UK tour dates.

Puppy forged a reputation by combing metal riffs with ethereal melodies. Still, this wasn’t enough to protect them from the hard realities of the pandemic and the music business.

“Without wanting to state the obvious, Pure Evil is an album born out of a strange time. It felt like everyone’s world’s got a lot smaller, and for us that world had shrunk even more where changes with label and management had left us as a band pretty much on our own.

We had no roadmap for what to do next, and no one but each other to help us navigate it as people, let alone a band. It was these twin feelings of isolation and solidarity that led us to the point of deciding we would record this album ourselves in our practice space. A few friends we share the room with piled in and we turned it into a working studio.”

My Offer

This new sense of creativity and development extended to the unexpected visuals for their single My Offer.

We made the video for the track using an iPhone face-hacking app normally used for lip sync videos on Tik Tok, turning the technology instead onto scenes & characters from our favourite paintings by Hieronymous Bosch. The Last Judgement and The Garden of Earthly Delights are two triptychs which juxtapose fantastic images of divine purity & grandeur with some of the most nightmarish & grotesque visuals ever painted. Idealised visions of pastel purity & Edenic excess rub up against strange, bestial creatures which torture one-another amidst Hellish tableaus. It all feels very heavy metal somehow.  

We figured that if anything could make these eerie creatures more surreal & unnerving, having them sing along to the latest Puppy track might be a good place to start.!

Clearly, festival bookers have welcomed Puppy’s DIY development. They’re all set to shred at 2000trees Festival, Outbreak Festival, and Bigfoot festival.

Pure Evil by Puppy was released on May 6, 2022, on Rude Records.

Puppy tour dates

  • 14 May, 2022- The Cavern, Exeter
  • 16 May, 2022 – Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff, Wales
  • 17 May, 2022 – Voodoo Daddys, Norwich
  • 18 May, 2022- Tower, Hull
  • 19 May, 2022 – Firebug, Leicester 
  • 20 May, 2022 – Sidney & Matilda, Sheffield
  • 22 May, 2022 – Stereo, Glasgow, Scotland
  • 23 May, 2022 – The Cluny, Newcastle upon Tyne
  • 24 May, 2022 – Dead Wax, Birmingham
  • 25 May, 2022 – Lending Room, Leeds
  • 26 May, 2022 – The Deaf Institute, Manchester 
  • 27 May, 2022 – Jericho Tavern, Oxford
  • 28 May, 2022 – The Joiners, Southampton
  • 30 May, 2022 – The Exchange, Bristol
  • 31 May, 2022 – The Garage, London